Seeds of Kindness

“I would rather be the humblest among those who have given hope to the hopeless and happiness to the distressed of my race than to live in history as a conqueror with my hands stained with innocent blood; I would rather have my name written among those who have loved their fellow man than to wear the laurels that encircle the brow of the iron prince; I would rather sleep in some quiet churchyard unknown and un-remembered, save by those in whose hearts I have scattered seeds of kindness and upon whose lips I have conjured smiles of joy, than to be confined in a sarcophagus of cold, with desolate homes as my monument and widows and orphans as living witnesses of my glory.”

Engraved on tombstone of Robert and Alf Taylor
Tennessee War of the Roses

2 thoughts on “Seeds of Kindness

Leave a Reply

