Afraid


View from Beauty Spot, Unicoi County

“Why am I afraid to live, I who love life and the beauty of flesh
and the living colors of earth and sky and sea?
Why am I afraid of love, I who love love?
Why am I afraid, I who am not afraid?
Why must I pretend to scorn in order to pity?
Why must I hide myself in self-contempt in order to understand?
Why must I be so ashamed of strength, so proud of my weakness?
Why was I born without a skin, O God, that I must wear armor
in order to touch or to be touched.”

Eugene O’ Neill

Leave a Reply

