The Meaning of Life

IMG_2684

Today I received a book in the mail, with this letter from a wonderful family at church, where I was the children’s and youth minister for three years until 2007. What a blessing. My only regret is that I wasn’t there Sunday evening to witness Morgan’s baptism.


October 26, 2009

Lee,

Enclosed is a book and CD that we purchased seven or eight years ago. We purchased this book with the intention of some day presenting it to the person whom we felt had the most influence on Morgan on her path to Jesus thus far in her life. We planned to give this book to that person on the day she was baptized. Morgan was baptized yesterday and we would like to present the book to you. With sincere appreciation and gratitude we want to thank you for all of the work you have done with Morgan and the other youth at the church. You have been a great influence.

This book and song express what we often fail to say to those who have served the Lord in our lives. We only think to do so when it is too late…we again say thanks.

Danny & Margaret


 

What a wonderful reminder Danny and Margaret have given me about our purpose in life. I encourage you to love and serve the Lord and to thank those in your life who have helped you on that journey.  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'” (Luke 10:27).

Lee


He answered: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”
2 thoughts on “The Meaning of Life

  1. And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.
    Philippians 1:6, NLT
    You are an awesome “encourager”!!! Thank you!

  2. How cool is THAT?? And what a wonderful idea they had!

    Even though I’ve sent her flowers more than once in my life, on Friday I had the opportunity to publicly acknowledge the teacher in my life who set me on the path to go to college. She was the one who coordinated the Sullivan in-service, and during my session, I also told my story, the story of how she took an interest and became involved in my life… hunting wildflowers in the woods at my grandmother’s, taking me to visit a college campus, giving me a dream, a vision, and setting me on a new path. A true teacher.

Leave a Reply

