Death Matters

IMG_4949

“It is hard to have patience with people who say ‘There is no death’
or ‘Death doesn’t matter.’ There is death. And whatever is matters.
And whatever happens has consequences,
and it and they are irrevocable and irreversible.”
 

C.S. Lewis

 

One thought on “Death Matters

  1. I’m sitting here pondering death, for they have called the family in for my dear sweet friend. He has spent his life as a carpenter, just like Jesus. In so many ways, he has embodied the Christlikeness to which we should aspire.

    When I visited him in the hospital the other day, I was humbled by the privilege to pray for him, this strong, wise man whom I have respected for so long. I told him that I know God not only knows his name but beyond that, God knows his voice. This man, this pillar of my home church, has prayed for everyone I know. He has prayed with me and for me. He has prayed for those I love.

    He has been the peacemaker, the arbitrator, the voice of reason and wisdom and discernment as the church has gone about its business. When decisions needed to be made, he has been there. When something needed to be done, he has been there. When someone has needed help, he has been there. When words needed to be said, he has been there. He has always been there for everything.

    I’ve seen him stand and heard his voice break as his concern and his convictions have led him to share. I’ve seen him weep. I’ve seen him give.

    He has knocked down walls in my home and built living space for my family. He has taken out windows and put in doors. He traveled to Kentucky to create a wall of bookshelves and cabinets for me. He has comforted me in crisis. When I went to see him at the hospital, I told him I had brought a small Craftsman hammer so he would be comfortable. He has crafted foundations for so many things in my life and the lives of others. Those carpenter hands. That Christian heart.

    How can it be?

Leave a Reply

