Pride of their Children

img_3279
Rare Yellow Trillium, aka Little Sweet Betsy

“Children’s children are a crown to the aged,
and parents are the pride of their children.”

Solomon,
Book of Proverbs

REFLECTIONS

Congratulations to my parents, who both graduate from college on May 8. Today was their commissioning service at Gap Creek Christian Church in Knoxville. They are joining Pioneer Bible Translators, a mission organization in Dallas, Texas. Dad will be Director of Support Services and Mom will be Executive Assistant to their HR director. Their four years of college have gone quickly (probably not to them) and I can’t believe they’re moving on. I was blessed to be part of the service this morning and share the above scripture (ok, only after getting control of my emotions…I can do public speaking in front of hundreds without breaking a sweat, but talk about my family and I get choked up every time) on behalf of our family. We’re all really proud of them for taking this huge step at this point in their lives. After church, Mom and I took a walk down their trail next to the French Broad River and found some rare (but plentiful there) yellow trillium and lovely jack-in-the-pulpits (appropriate to find at a Bible college!). What a treat for me — I’d never seen yellow trillium. Afterward, I sat with Mom and Dad on their bench overlooking the river and relished the moment. I love you, Mom and Dad!

 

3 thoughts on “Pride of their Children

  1. Way to go, you wild and crazy college kids!! We’re so happy for you — can’t BELIEVE how quickly four years seem to have flown by! Seems only yesterday you were lowly Freshmen =)

    Congrats, Best Wishes, and God Bless as you embark on this next chapter with PBT!

    Gina & Andy

Leave a Reply

